Directorate of Internal Audit

Brief History

The Directorate started out as Internal Audit Unit and later Department under the Federal University of Technology, Makurdi. It became a directorate following Council approval with effect from 28th January 2001. With this development, a Director becomes the head of the Directorate and reports to the Vice-Chancellor. The Directorate has five divisions viz: Audit Registry, Management and Investigations, Treasury/Assets, Payroll and Pensions, and Business and Auxiliary. The Directorate currently has staff strength of twenty-six made up of Thirteen (13) Auditors, One (1) Secretary, Nine (9) Executive Officer Cadre staff, Two (2) Clerical Officers, and a Caretaker. Out of the thirteen auditors, seven are qualified Professional Accountants.