Biological Science

Department of Biological Science

The Department of Biological Sciences welcomes all new and old students to this great University. The department also congratulates and wishes you the very best in all your academic endeavours. As you settle down for your academic work, you must be focused and diligent in your studies at all times to achieve your set goals. Note that you are being trained in character and learning to become useful and productive members of the society. Therefore, eschew such campus associated misdemeanours as examination misconduct, cultism, drugs, prostitution, sexual harassment, disrespect to lecturers and constituted authority etc. This will enable you enjoy your academic work and stay in this ivory tower. God bless you and do have a fruitful stay in University of Agriculture, Makurdi.
Thank you.

Head of Department

Professor Charles Chidozie Iheukwumere

Department Email




The Department of Biological Sciences, University of Agriculture Makurdi is one of the five constituent departments of the College of Science in this University. The Department is made up of four units viz Biochemistry, Botany, Microbiology and Zoology units and by implication houses the B.Sc. (Hons) Biochemistry which took off in 2008/2009 academic session, B.Sc. (Hons) Botany, B.Sc. (Hons) Microbiology and B.Sc. (Hons) Zoology. It hoped that these units will soon be split into four departments.
Prior to the establishment of the single honors degree programmes in the Life Sciences as listed above, the Department of Biological Sciences between 1980-1987 was part of then School of Foundation Studies which housed all Basic Sciences of the then FUT Makurdi, and later University of Jos Makurdi campus. The fortunes of the department turned around when the then University of Jos Makurdi Campus was granted the status of a fullfledged University in 1988 as one of the three Universities of Agriculture established by the then Federal Military Government. The Biological sciences unit of the school of foundation studies was accorded the status, of a full academic department in what used to be known as College of Science, Agricultural and Science Education (CSASE).
Between 1988-2001, the department was providing training for undergraduate students in what was known as Bachelor of Education degree in Biological Sciences B.Sc. (Hons) Ed. In 2001/2002 session the department commenced training of undergraduate students in single honors Botany, Microbiology and Zoology after obtaining approval from the Senate of the University. The Biochemistry programme could not immediately take off with the other programmes due to dearth of manpower. The B.Sc. (Hons) Biochemistry however, took off in 2008/2009 academic session. The B.Sc. (Ed) programme has been gradually phased out and transferred to the Department of Science Education of a sister College in the College of Agricultural and Science Education.


The departmental board is the highest decision making body in the Department. It comprises of all academic staff with the Head of Department as the Chairman. Information from the departmental board is circulated to all staff and students as the case may be. Matters to authorities higher than the departmental board are presented to the College Board by the head of department and the process continues from there. Matters that are beyond the power of the Departmental Board are passed onto the College Board and if need be, it is passed on further.