31-07-18 Jostum 0 comment

University of Agriculture Makurdi Staff Multi-Purpose Cooperative Society Limited (UAM-SMCSL) has inaugurated newly elected officials to man leadership posts of the cooperative society following the expiration of the tenure of their predecessors.

Speaking during the inauguration ceremony, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Professor M. O.  Nder expressed gratitude to the congress for finding them worthy to serve in that capacity. He maintained that marvellous support given to them by congress to a large extent culminated in the successful conduct of a free, fair and credible election. The committee chairman finally called on all to cooperate with the elected officials to enable perform credibly.

On his part, the outgoing president Dr J. K. Ikya thanked officials and members of UAM-SMCSL for their unflinching support over the years which according to him, contributed greatly to the success of his team. Dr Ikya also noted that those elected to succeed his team had glaring prospects to take the cooperative society to a greater level. He called on members not to relent in their support to enable the new officials thrive.

Delivering a speech after taking the oath of office as was administered by Barr. S. B. Luga the President Elect, Mr. Ortese Simon T. on behalf of the newly inaugurated officials thanked members for the confidence reposed in them and stated that, he was fully aware of the magnitude of the responsibilities of the office and will therefore be at alert in order to discharge his duties diligently.  Mr Ortese asserted that, “Today, we thank you with words, subsequently; we hope to translate our appreciation into deeds and conduct. On this note, we invite you all to give us your support so we can collectively, steadily and fearlessly navigate the tough terrain ahead of us”. He added that members’ support would enable them build a strong, efficient and prosperous cooperative society to the glory of God and humanity”.

Election results revealed that, Mr Simon Ortese garnered 6,871 votes to clinch the post of the president which was keenly contested by four other members of the society. Mr Agbo Stephen Edache scored 7,489 votes to emerge Vice President. Pastor Utsee, Joseph Aondohenmen Secured 6,166 votes, Mrs Ikyernum Comfort M. received 5,742 votes while Mr Ikyule David Tersoo who was unopposed received 9,937 yes votes to emerge Secretary, Treasurer and  Assistant Secretary  respectively.

Other election results as polled by other candidates showed Mr. Imeh, Victor Adom (unopposed) 10,084; Ochigbo, Christie O. 4,019; Mr Bem, Ugboho 7,535 and Mr Asema John-Appollos T. (unopposed) 12,659 votes to man Financial Secretary, Auditor, Public Relations Officer and Legal Adviser respectively.